One wet morning

The stage was set

Arrangements done

The audience started to pour in…

 

Together with them

They brought

Gossip, which seemed like roars

Looks, which appeared to penetrate through me…

 

Some were familiar

Some new

Some encouraging

Some threatening…

 

And all this while

Some devil occupied my mind

His voice was thunderous and deafening

And it was all I could hear…

 

“Leave it!

Give it all up!

You are nervous!

You won’t be able to do this!!!”

 

Frightened as I was

I thought to myself

“Will I be able to do it?

Can I perform?”

 

My fingers meanwhile

Raced towards my phone

They took me to that one message

Your message…

 

Yes that message

The only message

Which, out of thousand messages

Mattered the most…

 

My eyes scanned through it

Just to feel the magic

The magic that would help me

Beat the Devil…

 

The event started

Speeches came and went by

The battle between your magic and the Devil went on

And on…

 

As I took up the stage

My eyes traveled through the crowd

For someone

Who brought the magic to my life…

 

As time passed

My eyes couldn’t reach their destiny

But Alas! There you were

My confidence was restored…

 

Reading your lips

A sudden gush of adrenaline powered my speech

It went on without my control

For all I focussed on was you and only you…

 

It was over and I returned

But my eyes

They wouldn’t simply let go

Of the magic…

 

The results were out with my victory

My eyes gleamed with joy

The magic seemed to be omnipresent

Your magic…